Skip to content

How Much Fun are Free Moules? {Bastille Café & Bar}

April 6, 2011

I’m getting pretty good at winning food related… stuff. I’ve never been one of those people one considers lucky. Until recently, I only ever remember winning one prize. I must have been about eight years old. I won a raffle at an arts and crafts fair or something like that. Because of my name, they thought I was a man and somehow decided I was an old man and would enjoy a hideous, giant, clay vase. My mom found it a nice home and thus ended my winning streak.

Over the past few months, since this whole food blog adventure started, I’ve gotten pretty good at winning food related prizes. To date, I’ve won a Barrio gift card, an appetizer from Matt’s in the Market, a Kindle copy of Tom Douglas’s new book and most recently, a Moules Monday dinner from Bastille Café & Bar. This past Monday was Moules dinner!

I won’t spend too much time telling you all about Bastille since I’ve already written about them before, but I will say I had every bit as great a time Monday night as on my first visit and our second visit certainly won’t be our last. I’m not just saying that because they gave me free mussels. The food is great, their servers are friendly and knowledgeable and the space is warm and inviting.

For tonight’s dinner, I took advantage of my winnings with the Curry Moules. I also added a side of frites. B had the Steak Frites even though last time he swore he’d have the Cassoulet on our next visit. He went back and forth for awhile before deciding. Oh, the agony! We also shared the Poitrine de Porc Confit (crispy pork belly with cider-poached apples, pickled onions and thyme) to start. The pork belly was great, but maybe not my favorite in Seattle.

Steak Frites

Frites with Truffle Aioli

And then there was dessert. We has the Frozen Chocolate Mousse and it was fantastic. I have to say, though, we missed the boat not having the Chocolate Peanut Butter Crème Glacée that we had last time. Peanut Butter Crack. Seriously. That said, I really enjoyed the Mousse.

Frozen Chocolate Mousse

Thank you, Bastille for the awesome Moules Monday dinner and thanks for being open on Mondays! That’s when some of us need you most!
Bastille Café & Bar on Urbanspoon
No comments yet

Leave a Comment.

