Skip to content

Auld Lang Syne {Wasabi Bistro}

January 9, 2012

 

111

I’ve never been a huge fan of New Year’s Eve. There’s just nothing about dressing up in too few clothes, tottering around in stupid shoes and drinking too much that says, “new year, new start” to me. Ok, so I know that’s not what it’s really all about, but there are a whole lot of people out there who do think that’s what it’s about and they are a bit much to take. I would chalk it up to being old, but I’ve pretty much always felt that way. Then again, as my friend, JM, puts it, “we were kind of born old.” That doesn’t mean we don’t celebrate, though.

Saturday morning, our friends, KF and JF, came over to watch the UK basketball game. I love our condo a lot, but sometimes wish we had more space to entertain because I do enjoy it. It was a pretty basic breakfast- breakfast pizza, fruit, Irish coffee, cinnamon rolls and (because they won), mimosas. Aside from the fact that I still can’t get the potatoes on my breakfast pizza quite right, it came out pretty well. We parted ways after the game, but had plans to get together for dinner at Wasabi Bistro.

We’d only been to Wasabi once since they reopened after a long closure due to fire. The environment has changed, to say the least. It’s always had a Belltown, sort of clubby feel to it, but now it feels straight Vegas. From the lighting to the furniture to the music, they’ve definitely stuck to their theme. It’s not an atmosphere I’d like to eat in all of the time, but it has it’s place and time and it is fun.

Honestly, I don’t really know what to tell you about the sushi. It’s good! It’s not Shiro’s, but it’s not supposed to be. It’s Belltown ambiance with solid food and (in our case) great company. What more do you need? Besides that, we got to make fun of the half dressed women and the bow tie-clad men. It was a great night.

The sushi choices are a little overwhelming. The menu is huge. Personally, I’m a fan of doing a short menu well, but as far as I can tell, they’re sushi chefs are keeping up with their extensive choices. When it comes to super fresh, authentic sushi, I’ll probably still go to Shiro’s. If I want a fun night out with friends with solid sushi rolls? Wasabi Bistro is a reliable choice.074

076

Wasabi Bistro on Urbanspoon

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 10, 2012 7:59 am

    Sounds like y’all had a lot of fun. A great little review and love the photos. Looks delicious.

Leave a Comment.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers