Skip to content

Sugar and Spice {Jean-Philippe Pâtisserie Bellagio}

August 8, 2011

 

152

Wednesday brought a remote working day for me. The first full day since Denver. The easiest way to stay focused was just to spend the day in the hotel room. Maybe not ideal, but a good shield from the heat and any distractions. At some point, though, a girl’s gotta eat.

After checking in the day before, we walked past Jean-Philippe Patisserie Bellagio. The first time I saw it (and witnessed the throngs of tourists conducting elaborate photo shoots outside), all I thought was, “Wow, that’s a very Vegas candy shop.” It’s definitely elaborate. I did take note of the fact that they had sandwiches and salads too, though, just in case that might come in handy later.

As it turned out, Wednesday was much more hectic that I expected from a work perspective, so it was almost 2:00 by the time I made it downstairs to check out their lunch offerings. I was pretty much starving. I never did actually see their salad choices on the menu and a sandwich didn’t sound like the best option, so I opted for the Forest savory crêpe.

The crêpe took quite awhile to prepare, but honestly, I didn’t mind aside from standing amongst the many tourists who didn’t seem to really value personal space. I’m not sure what I was expecting, but what I got was much, much more.

IMG_6822

Had my appetite been normal, I still probably couldn’t have finished the whole crêpe, but when you factor in the salad, I didn’t stand a chance. Of course, while I was standing in line (it was a long line), I had plenty of time to ogle a Dulce de Leche Brioche. Against my better judgment, I ordered it.

Appetite not withstanding, I’d already eaten too much crêpe. Had I not, I would have really loved this brioche.

IMG_6823

It was delicious. Super light and fluffy and absolutely filled with Dulce de Leche. Sadly, though, only two small bites in, I couldn’t eat any more and with nowhere to store it in the hotel room, that was the end of the brioche.

I had every intention of returning for gelato at some point during the trip, but things were just too busy. Maybe next trip…

 

Jean-Philippe Pâtisserie (Bellagio) on Urbanspoon

No comments yet

Leave a Comment.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers