Skip to content

It’s All Sunshine and Oysters {Anthony’s Bell Street Diner}

April 8, 2011

Every now and then, Seattle reminds us why we live here. Starting in March and April, we have occasional days when the sun comes out and the temperature warms up. We know better than to take these days for granted. They remain scarce until July.

B and I worked from home today. To say work has been hectic lately would be a gross understatement. It sounds a bit odd, but I really had to get away from work to get any work done. I think I accomplished more in the first three hours of my day at home than during the entire rest of the week. By 5:00 I was feeling pretty burned out… and the sun was shining. B suggested we go for a walk. When the weather gets better, we’re so much more active. Last summer we even bought bikes (though I’m living proof that riding a bike is not “like riding a bike”) and started taking them down to the Olympic Sculpture Park. It really pads the guilt of all our eating out.

All week the local meteorologists promised us a sunny day today. We were skeptical. I mean, really… It snowed on the Eastside this week. This morning it wasn’t looking too promising with thick fog and clouds. By early afternoon, though, the sun was shining and I was no longer cursing the names of our local weather folks.

We set out for just a walk. Afterall, I have perfectly good chicken and potatoes in the refrigerator for dinner. The weather was so warm, though, and the water was glittering and calm. It just felt wrong to be inside. We decided it was a good day for Anthony’s Bell Street Diner. We first ate at Anthony’s about four years ago and I admit I didn’t really like it. I must have ordered badly because what I got reminded me of Furr’s Family Dining (formerly Furr’s Cafeteria). Now if you aren’t from the Southwest, you may not be familiar with Furr’s, but I wouldn’t exactly say it’s a compliment to compare Anthony’s to Furr’s. Like I said, I ordered badly and we were eating dinner at like 4:00, so the crowd was mostly of the over 70 set (à la Furr’s). The 4:00 dinner atmosphere was just a little different from what we normally choose. Combine this with not such great food and it took us awhile to return.

I’m glad we gave Anthony’s Bell Street Diner another chance. We’ve been back a few times, usually to sit on their deck and we’ve always had a great time. Their staff is super friendly, their food is really good (once I started ordering seafood since, you know, they’re a seafood restaurant) and they have a great view of the water. On a clear day like today, you can see Qwest Field and Mt. Rainier. It really is a stunning view.

Tonight, neither of us was feeling completely starving. B chose the Coconut Prawns and a bowl of New England clam chowder while I went with the raw oyster sampler and a bowl of Manhattan clam chowder. It was the perfect amount of food with a fantastic view.

Coconut Prawns

New England Clam Chowder

Raw Oyster Sampler

Kumamoto Oyster Shell

Manhattan Clam Chowder

I can’t tell you the names of all the oysters in the sampler. I’m a novice oyster eater and don’t know a thing about them. It’s sort of like wine. I’ve learned a little about what I like and what tastes good to me, but I really know nothing about it. I do know that I’m not a fan of the really large oysters. They’re just a bit much. I think it’s a texture thing. I do love oysters, though, and love that they’re basically guilt free. Did you know there are only about 100 calories in a whole dozen? They completely satisfy my need to graze socially without totally killing my calorie budget for the day.

Anyway, we walked home from Anthony’s satisfied that we’d taken full advantage of this rare April sunny and warm day. That’s really all we can ask this time of year. We even stopped to take a couple photos of the Northwestern and the Wizard, two of the boats from The Discovery Channel’s Deadliest Catch.

I’m not a reality TV fan and I don’t watch the show very often, but there’s something totally fascinating about Deadliest Catch. I also completely love working boats (part of the reason I like Ballard so much), so I’m sure that’s part of it, but I get really excited when their boats are in town.

We’ll see how the weather holds up tomorrow. The rain is supposed to return by Sunday, but I’d love a sunny Saturday to make a shopping trip to Pike Place Market. If we don’t get it, that’s ok. The days are already markedly longer and we’re on the weather upswing… even if it’s swinging slowly.

 
Anthony's Bell Street Diner on Urbanspoon

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2011 4:42 pm

    Did you see Captain Sig or Captain Keith? Love Deadliest Catch!

    Thanks again for all your Seattle tips – I promise I’m still working on my Seattle blog post!

  2. April 9, 2011 8:58 pm

    Hey! I’ve been meaning to email you! I bought a Groupon for the Clipper that we have to use by the end of May, so it looks like we’ll be making a Victoria trip soon.

    No Captains. :( This is the 2nd time we’ve seen their boats, though, and I’m still on the lookout.

    Can’t wait to hear how your Seattle trip was!

  3. April 9, 2011 9:57 pm

    Great post! I was so glad for that sunny day. Lately I’ve been cursing Seattle for the crappy, dismal weather. Definitely needed it.

    Awesome review. I’m a fan of work boats too.

Leave a Comment.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers